My activities on the air in French Guiana in June 2013

Arrival in Guyana, the Ariane launch

This time I arrived in French Guiana the day of the Ariane 5 launch. A great opportunity to see the lift off the heaviest payload ever sent into space by an Ariane 5: the cargo  for the international space station ISS, ATV 4 (Automatic Transfer Vehicle) named Albert Einstein – a load of 20,190 tons. This flight is also sponsored by Mulhouse, my city, at the occasion of the 2013 Presidency of the Community of Ariane Cities.

Mulhouse Sticker on Ariane 5 – Photo ESA – VOL VA 213
http://www.flickr.com/photos/pkpro/sets/72157632220769375/.

The weather was not in favor this Wednesday, June 5, but ultimately, at hour H0, the weather appears good. The sunset reddened the horizon. From the little mountain Carapa, everyone is ready and listening with bated breath to the last seconds countdown “3 2 1 Vulcain ignition …”. The light illuminates the horizon. This Ariane 5 lift off. We forget the tiredness of the travel, and jet lag. It is 11:52 p.m. minutes and 13 seconds in Paris, and the visual spectacle is just technological.

Sorry but I’m not talking about radio there … but I think you’re interested anyway.
I’d rather let you see the video I took from Carapa, 13 km from the ELA 3 launch zone. This gives an overview. All official flight details by downloading the  VA213 launch kit, and the whole campaign and the history of post-launch events also on this famous french forum of the conquest of space.

[fvplayer src=’http://www.f5uii.net/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/va213.mp4′ width=960 height=544 splash=’http://www.f5uii.net/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/video_va213.png’ popup=’Popup’]

This is for the introduction. So I was not able to take the microphone that evening, because of the launch, but I had the opportunity to be on the air the following evening on June 6 from the radio club FY5KE.

My traffic from the radio club

I had the opportunity to take the microphone from the radio club Kourou FY5KE between 6 and 14 June, for about 30 hours of work on the air. Beautiful openings of 20, 15 and 10 meters have occurred, that have let me work beautifuls pile-up and offer the pleasure  of 1800 times, contacts with French Guiana . Three European QRP stations contacted me (5W, 9W).

At the radio club, the 5 elements yagi antenna on 10 m was replaced by a single band 7 elements. Directivity and gain are very significant.

f5uii_june2013_graph

My activity from Royale Island, IOTA SA-020

This weekend on 8 June 2013, there were two cross of  the islands Shuttle programmed Saturday. I was a bit late to book, so I shipped the second travail at 11am. The crossing was pretty quiet, but the second half way, it rains. Fortunately on disembarking the rain had stopped. After holding its keys, I invested the caretaker’s room. Located in front of the area, this not allow me unfortunately  mount my long wire.

fyf5uii-iota-sa020-juin-2013

Mounted between little houses, the FD Carolina antenna

Then I mounted between the barracks, my FD-Carolina, type of Windom antenna , working from 40 to 10m (or 6m) with a fishing rod carbon fiber 6m long support. A large thank you to Hugh F4GSN for the loan of this antenna, produced by himself.

My TS-480 SAT is powered by a small and lightweight power supply. I am QRV at 17 hours UTC. 10 meters band is open and allows me one hour and a half of contacts with Europe, North and South America. But propagation falls. At 21:20, I uses an opening for 20 minutes with Europe on 17 meters. With this very low propagation, I enjoy and thanks in using my TS-480 integrated voice parrot system (voice option).

Hoping for a favorable resumed propagation in the morning, I spent a rather short night, and get up at 4 am local time … Some difficult and very few QSOs on 20 meters are made … Then finally two dozen new contacts on 10 meters in the afternoon … In brief, a very low activity, with finally 130 contacts in the log. During the pauses, local Guyanese friends went to greet me, it is always friendly, and fill time. Pretty disappointing, but that is part of the portable radio expedition… My first activity in January was much more successful.

Thank you again to the friends in my department 68 (Haut-Rhin) who followed me and contacted me during this QSY on Kourou and “Islands” stay …

For this IOTA activity, In a few months, I will send all the contacts my dedicated IOTA SA020 QSL card via the bureau. If you wish, you can ask your QSL direct (see QSL information).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Mes activités sur l’air depuis la Guyane en juin 2013

Arrivée en Guyane, le lancement Ariane

Cette fois, j’arrive en Guyane Française le jour du lancement d’Ariane 5. Une belle occasion pour voir décoller la charge utile la plus lourde jamais envoyée dans l’espace par Ariane 5 : le cargo de ravitaillement pour la station internationale ISS, ATV 4 (Automatic Transfert Vehicule) baptisé Albert Einstein – une charge de 20,190 tonnes. C’est aussi un vol parrainé par Mulhouse, ma ville,  à l’occasion de la présidence de la communauté des villes Ariane 2013.

Autocollant de Mulhouse sur Ariane 5 – Photo ESA – VOL VA 213
http://www.flickr.com/photos/pkpro/sets/72157632220769375/

La météo n’était pas favorable ce mercredi 5 juin, mais finalement, à l’heure H, le beau temps apparaît. Le couché de soleil rougit l’horizon. Depuis la montage Carapa, tout le monde est prêt et retient son souffle en écoutant s’égrainer les derniers secondes “3 2 1 … allumage vulcain”. La lumière illumine l’horizon. Voilà Ariane 5 décolle. On oublie la fatigue du voyage, le décalage horaire il est 23 heures 52 minutes et 13 secondes à Paris, et le spectacle visuel est technologique.

Désolé mais je ne parle pas de radio là… mais je pense que cela vous intéresse tout de même.
Je vous laisse plutôt découvrir la vidéo que j’ai prise depuis la montage Carapa, à 13 km de la zone de lancement ELA 3. Cela donne une vue d’ensemble. Tous les détails officiels du vol en téléchargeant le kit du lancement VA213, et toute la campagne et l’historique des événements post-lancement également sur le forum de la conquête de l’espace.

[fvplayer src=’http://www.f5uii.net/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/va213.mp4′ width=960 height=544 splash=’http://www.f5uii.net/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/video_va213.png’ popup=’Popup’]

Voilà pour l’introduction. Donc je n’avais pas pu prendre le microphone ce soir là, à cause du lancement, mais j’ai eu l’occasion d’être sur l’air dès le lendemain soir le 6 juin, depuis le radio-club FY5KE.

Mon trafic depuis le radio-club

J’ai eu l’occasion de prendre le micro depuis le radio-club de Kourou FY5KE entre le 6 et le 14 juin, pour environ 30 heures d’activités sur l’air. De belles ouvertures sur 20, 15 et 10 mètres ont eu lieu, qui m’auront permis de faire quelques beaux pile-up durant mes temps de disponibilités sur place, et offrir ce plaisir de contacter la Guyane française à 1800 reprises. Trois stations européennes QRP m’ont contactés (5W, 9W)

Au radio-club, l’antenne yagi  5 éléments 10 m a été remplacée par une directive monobande 7 éléments. Sa directivité et gain sont très appréciables.

fyf5uii_juin2013_graph

Mon activité depuis Ile Royale, IOTA SA-020

Ce week-end là, le 8 juin 2013, il y a eu deux traversés de la Navette des îles programmés samedi. M’étant pris un peu tard pour réserver, j’ai donc embarqué à 11h. La traversée fût plutôt calme, mais la seconde moitié sous la pluie. Heureusement au débarquement la pluie avait cessé. Après possession prise des clefs, j’investi la chambre de gardien. Positionné à l’avant de la zone, elle ne me permettra malheureusement pas de monter mon long fil.

fyf5uii-iota-sa020-juin-2013

Montée entre les baraques de gardiens, l’antenne FD-Carolina

Je monte alors, entre les baraques, ma FD- Carolina, une antenne de type Windom fonctionnant de 40 à 10m (voire 6m) avec un soutien par une canne à pêche de fibre de carbone de 6m de long. Un grand merci à Hugues F4GSN pour le prêt de cette antenne, réalisée par ces soins.

Mon TS-480 SAT est alimenté par une petite et légère alimentation à découpage. Je suis QRV à 17 heures UTC .La bande 10 mètres est ouverte et me permets 1h30 de QSO avec l’Europe et l’Amérique du Nord et du Sud. Mais la propagation chute. A partir de 21h20, je profite d’une ouverture de 20 minutes avec l’Europe, sur 17 mètres. Avec la propagation en berne, j’exploite et apprécie un maximum le perroquet vocal de mon TS-480 (Option vocale).

Espérant une reprise plus favorable au matin, je passe une nuit plutôt courte, et me lève à 4 heures locales… Quelques difficiles et très peu nombreux QSO sur 20 mètres sont réalisés…Puis pour finir deux dizaines de contacts à nouveau sur 10 mètres en après-midi… Bref une activité très réduite, avec finalement 130 contacts dans le log. Pendant les creux, les amis guyanais locaux sont passés me saluer, c’est toujours sympathique, et sa fait passer le temps. Assez décevant, mais cela fait partie de l’expédition en portable… Ma première activité de janvier avait été bien plus fructueuse.

Merci encore aux copains du 68 qui m’ont suivi et contacté lors de ce QSY sur Kourou et sur “les Iles”…

Pour cette activité sur IOTA, j’enverrai d’ici quelques mois à tous mes contacts automatiquement ma carte QSL via bureau. Vous pouvez également si vous le désirez, demander votre QSL en direct (voir informations QSL).

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *